top of page


3 - 8 June, 2018  |  Fort Collins, CO USA


Visa Information

Letters for Visa Applications
Conference participants who wish to have an Invitation Letter for their VISA application should fill in the information below and then click 'Submit'.
Request for Letter of Invitation

An electronic copy (pdf) of an invitation letter will be sent to the requester via e-mail.  Please inform us if you need a mailed copy by placing a note in the 'Message' box in the form above.  

Foreign travelers coming to the United States to conduct temporary business, for example business meetings and consultations, attending conventions and conferences, or negotiating contracts, need visitor visas unless they qualify for entry under the Visa Waiver Program.  Citizens of Canada generally do not need visas for tourism and visits.

If you need to obtain a visa, please thoroughly review all information for your specific U.S. Embassy or Consulate on the Embassy or Consulate Visa Section website for local procedures and instructions, such as how to make an interview appointment.  Embassy and Consulate websites will also explain any additional procedures for students, exchange visitors and those persons who need an earlier visa interview appointment.

Important Conference Dates
Abstract Submission Deadline:
Author Notification:
Oral Presentation PPT Slides due:
Short Course (optional): 
Conference Events Begin:
Main Sessions Commence:
Conference Ends:
Early Arrival (optional):
Late Departure (optional):
March 30, 2018
April 22, 2018
May 30, 2018
June 2, 2018
June 3, 2018
June 4, 2018
June 8, 2018
June 2, 2018
June 9, 2018

Select U.S. Department of State 

U.S. Visa Information Links

U.S. Visas - U.S. Department of State Bureau of Consular Affairs

Visa Waiver Program

Official ESTA Application

U.S. Visas - Business (B-1) for Scientific Conferences

Apply for a U.S. Visa - Online Nonimmigrant Visa Form (DS-160)

Visa Appointment & Processing Wait Times

Official list of U.S. Embassies from the Department of State

List of U.S. Embassies and Consulates

U.S Visa - About Visas - The Basics (FAQ)

U.S. Visas - Business

U.S. Visas - Business (B-1) for Scientific Conferences

U.S. Visas - Business Travel to the United States (Flyer 2014)

U.S. Visas - Visitor Visas - Business and Pleasure (Flyer 2015)

Visa Waiver Program Requirements - Department of Homeland Security

Electronic System for Travel Authorization

Visa Waiver Program Countries

Visa Waiver Program Important Notice:

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables most citizens or nationals of participating countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without first obtaining a visa, when they meet
all requirements of the VWP program.  Please see details and requirement of the Visa Waiver program provided in the links above. 


Travelers must have a valid Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) approval prior to travel.  The Visa Waiver Program and ESTA system requires travelers to have an e-Passport.  An e-Passport is an enhanced secure passport with an embedded electronic chip. 

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) encourages travelers to check their passports and their current ESTA status to make sure they are in compliance with the requirement. As a reminder, if a traveler has acquired a new passport, they must submit a new ESTA application.  

If you prefer to have a visa in your passport, you may still apply for a visitor (B) visa.  For attendees of a Scientific Conference, this would most often be a B-1 Visa.

There are currently 38 countries participating in the Visa Waiver Program:

  • Andorra (1991)

  • Australia (1996)

  • Austria (1991)

  • Belgium (1991)

  • Brunei (1993)

  • Chile (2014)

  • Czech Republic (2008)

  • Denmark (1991)

  • Estonia (2008)

  • Finland (1991)

  • France (1989)

  • Germany (1989)

  • Greece (2010)

  • Hungary (2008)

  • Iceland (1991)

  • Ireland (1995)

  • Italy (1989)

  • Japan (1988)

  • Korea, Republic of (2008)

  • Latvia (2008)

  • Liechtenstein (1991)

  • Lithuania (2008)

  • Luxembourg (1991)

  • Malta (2008)

  • Monaco (1991)

  • Netherlands (1989)

  • New Zealand (1991)

  • Norway (1991)

  • Portugal (1999)

  • San Marino (1991)

  • Singapore (1999)

  • Slovakia (2008)

  • Slovenia (1997)

  • Spain (1991)

  • Sweden (1989)

  • Switzerland (1989)

  • Taiwan (2012)

  • United Kingdom** (1988)


NOTE: The citizens of the new countries of Curacao, Bonaire, St Eustatius, Saba and St Maarten (the former Netherlands Antilles) are not eligible to travel to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program if they are applying for admission with passports from these countries.

bottom of page